Nate Chung
Youth & Worship

Where are you from?
I was born in Seoul, but at the age of 11, my whole family moved to HK for my dad's work. Growing up here, I mainly spoke English and became quite immersed in American/Western culture. If I had to define my culture, I would say I'm 70% "Western", 20% Korean, and 10% Hong Kong Chinese.

What do you do at SP?
My main job as a youth and worship pastor, is to pastor our middle school and high school students, and to oversea our praise & worship ministry. On top of that, I pastor the adult congregation by occasionally preaching at EMP and Sunday services, teaching Growing in Christ, and leading the baptism class. On a day to day basis, my job includes cleaning the stage, keeping inventory, cleaning the youth group room, connecting with students & parents, meeting up with church members, planning events, scheduling the worship calendar, preparing worship sets, preparing messages, praying, and more.

What would your ideal day look like?
My ideal day would begin with getting really good sleep. I would like to get about 9 hours of sleep.. ideally waking up around 8-9am. Then I'll have coffee and breakfast at home with my wife, followed by an hour of working out and an hour of quiet time with Jesus. How the rest of the day plays out doesn't matter too much, but it would include these activities: watching TV, reading, napping, and going out for a walk with Mon.

Describe yourself in 3 words.
nice, responsible, growing

What is your love language? Giving and Receiving?
Gifts for giving and words of affirmation for receiving